DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY & CORRECTIONAL SERVICES

Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5005, (410) 209-4014
[photo, Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland] William G. Stewart, Deputy Secretary, Administration (410) 339-5041
J. Michael Zeigler, Deputy Secretary, Operations (410) 339-5060
David N. Bezanson, Assistant Secretary, Capital Programs (410) 339-5068
Rhea L. Harris, Assistant Secretary, Programs & Services (410) 339-5095
C. Kevin Combs, Chief Information Officer (410) 585-3102

Dayena M. Corcoran, Acting Commissioner of Correction (410) 585-3301
David R. Blumberg, Chair, Maryland Parole Commission (410) 585-3200
Joseph F. Clocker, Acting Director of Parole & Probation (410) 585-3566
Randall S. Nero, Ph.D., Director, Patuxent Institution (410) 799-3300
William J. McMahon, Acting Executive Director, Police & Correctional Training Commissions (410) 875-3400
John S. Wolfe, Commissioner of Pretrial Detention & Services (410) 209-2039
Stuart M. Nathan, Principal Counsel (410) 585-3072

Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.



Agencies

Budget

Functions

Historical Evolution

Institutions

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

OFFICE OF SECRETARY

(Q00A0101, formerly 35.01.01.01)
FY2016 appropriation: $33,380,101; authorized positions: 197.5
Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent)
(410) 339-5005, (410) 209-4014
e-mail: smoyer@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/oos.shtml

ADMINISTRATION

William G. Stewart, Deputy Secretary for Administration (410) 339-5050
e-mail: wgstewart@dpscs.state.md.us

CAPITAL PROGRAMS

David N. Bezanson, Assistant Secretary for Capital Programs (410) 339-5068
e-mail: dbezanson@dpscs.state.md.us

OPERATIONS

(Q00A02, formerly Q00A0108)
FY2016 appropriation: $76,959,455; authorized positions: 706
J. Michael Zeigler, Deputy Secretary for Operations (410) 339-5007
e-mail: mzeigler@dpscs.state.md.us

FIELD SUPPORT SERVICES
Patricia C. Goins-Johnson, Executive Director (410) 585-3303
e-mail: pgoins-johnson@dpscs.state.md.us

PATUXENT INSTITUTION
(Q00R0206, formerly Q00D00, formerly 35.04.00) (Jessup)
FY2016 appropriation: $51,344,577; authorized positions: 459
Randall S. Nero, Ph.D., Director (appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services) (410) 799-3300
e-mail: rnero@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/patuxent.shtml

PROGRAMS & SERVICES

Rhea L. Harris, Assistant Secretary (410) 339-5091; e-mail: rharris2@dpscs.state.md.us

DIVISION OF CORRECTION

(formerly, Q00B00, formerly 35.02.00)
Dayena M. Corcoran, Acting Commissioner of Correction (appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services with Governor's approval & Senate advice & consent) (410) 585-3301
e-mail: dcorcoran@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/doc.shtml

Carolyn A. Atkins, Deputy Commissioner of Correction (410) 585-3792
e-mail: catkins@dpscs.state.md.us

DIVISION OF PAROLE & PROBATION

(formerly Q00C02, formerly 35.03.02)
Joseph F. Clocker, Acting Director (appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services with Governor's approval & Senate advice & consent) (410) 585-3566; 1-877-227-8031 (toll free)
e-mail: jclocker@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/dpp.shtml

COMMUNITY SUPERVISION SUPPORT
(Q00A0202)
FY2016 appropriation: $23,606,176; authorized positions: 183
Ernest Eley, Jr., Director (410) 585-3566
e-mail: eeley@dpscs.state.md.us

DIVISION OF PRETRIAL DETENTION & SERVICES

(formerly Q00P00, 35.15.00)
John S. Wolfe, Commissioner of Pretrial Detention & Services
(appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services with Governor's approval) (410) 209-2039
e-mail: jwolfe@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/dpds.shtml

Vacancy, Deputy Commissioner (410) 209-4284

Carolyn J. Scruggs, Acting Assistant Commissioner (410) 209-4299
e-mail: cscruggs@dpscs.state.md.us

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 18, 2016 Maryland State Archives